Skip to content

Jermaine Stewart

August 11, 2013
Jermaine Stewart by Ash and friend

Jermaine Stewart, written and collaged by Ash and friend


Jermaine Stewart:
a letter for you

I want to thank you for expressing true, real queerness in the 80s world of fake, stylized androgyny.
Even though you had to watch your words, we all know what you were saying.
I want to thank you for being a champion of consent, communication, and real connection between two souls in such a shallow world.
Most of all, I want to thank you for giving me a song that gets me ready to go. An anthem that reminds me, every time I’m about to go out, what life is really all about.
“We don’t have to take our clothes off, to have a good time”…
Love always.

*****

Jermaine,
When I hear those first few beats, I always get chills. That beautiful melody, then your voice kicks in and you hit me where it counts.
1986…What a time to write such a song. Were your friends and lovers falling all around you? When I hear your voice, sometimes death is all I can think about.
I wonder if you knew…
In any case, you were beautiful, and I want to thank you for being so.

Jermaine Stewart by Kerrin Flannigan

Jermaine Stewart by Kerri Flannigan

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Oscar Flower permalink
    October 26, 2015 20:30

    Don’t know when you did this but it’s made me so happy that people still care about him so much, he’s my hero, bless him, great drawing it’s very good!

    • October 28, 2015 18:08

      That is so sweet of you to say. I’ll let the artist know you liked her drawing. I know she’ll appreciate your support as much as i do.

Leave a Reply

